9.—Table showing Application of Section 51, Subsection 4, of British North America
Act, to Representation of Ontario and Nova Scotia.

Provinces.	Proportion which popula- tion of each province bears to the total population of Canada.		Decrease in	Ratio of decrease in proportion from 1911 to 1921 to	Decrease, greater, equal to or less than one- twentieth of
	1911.	1921.		proportion in 1911.	proportion in 1911.
Ontario		-33380 -05960	·01689 ·00871	·0481 ·1275	less. greater.

The Representation Act, 1924.—As a result of the census of 1921, a Bill for readjusting the representation in the House of Commons was first introduced in 1923, but was not passed until the close of the 1924 session. This Bill provided for a representation in the fifteenth Parliament of 245 members, taking away 2 members from Nova Scotia (14 instead of 16), and raising the representation of Manitoba from 15 to 17, of Saskatchewan from 16 to 21, of Alberta from 12 to 16, and of British Columbia from 13 to 14, the representation of the rest of the provinces and of the Yukon Territory remaining unaffected.

In the re-allotment of seats among the provinces and the total increase of ten members, considerable changes in the boundaries of constituencies have been effected. A summary of these alterations is appended.

Prince Edward Island.—No change.

Nova Scotia.—The constituencies of Hants and King's are united (Hants-King's); Shelburne and Queen's are divided, the former being added to Yarmouth and the latter to Lunenburg (Queen's-Lunenburg and Shelburne-Yarmouth); South Cape Breton and Richmond, which formerly elected two members are created separate constituencies, each to return one member (Cape Breton South and Richmond-West Cape Breton).

New Brunswick.—No change, except in the name of St. John City and Counties of St. John and Albert which is re-named St. John-Albert.

Quebec.—While the number of members is unchanged, the ridings of Missisquoi and Brome are combined, as are also those of Berthier and Maskinongé (Missisquoi-Brome and Berthier-Maskinongé); Chicoutimi-Saguenay is divided, Chicoutimi being created a separate riding while Saguenay is added to Charlevoix (Charlevoix-Saguenay); Montmorency, formerly united with Charlevoix, is joined with part of Quebec County in a new constituency (Quebec-Montmorency); a new constituency is created under the name of Lake St. John, while another new one (Mount Royal), on the island of Montreal, includes Westmount, Notre Dame de Grace, Montreal West, Hampstead and Mount Royal; St. Henri is made a separate riding and Georges Etienne Cartier is re-named Cartier.

Ontario.—The riding of Stormont and Glengarry is divided into two separate constituencies; Dundas and Grenville are united (Dundas-Grenville); Lennox and Addington are divided and added respectively to Prince Edward and Frontenac (Prince Edward-Lennox and Frontenac-Addington); Hastings West is re-named Hastings South and Hastings East is added to Peterborough (Hastings-Peterborough); North Ontario is joined to Muskoka (Muskoka-Ontario), South Simcoe to Dufferin (Dufferin-Simcoe) and East Elgin to Norfolk (Norfolk-Elgin); Essex is given three seats (East, South and West) and Timiskaming two (North and South); the ridings of Fort William, Kenora-Rainy River and Port Arthur-Thunder Bay replace Fort William-Rainy River and Port Arthur-Kenora; North, South and West York replace the present four ridings, while Toronto's representation